Hockey cross-training

hockey 003.jpg

When I was a kid I used to play ice hockey, but stopped fairly early and I was left with an itch. As my son went to skating school I thought it was time to pick-up where I left off. Luckily I found couple of different amateur teams that were looking for players for their practice games. The only problem was transport, but with the Bob Yak trailer that proved to be no obstacle, at least on these soggy spring roads.

 hockey 002.jpgBy cycling to practice I get to warm up before the game and then cool off heading to work. Waking up early and being active helps change body metabolism. Ice-hockey is a great lower body workout so I’m hoping this could become a great off-season training for me. The only downside is that it does not really help the imbalances and there is a risk of injury.

Leave a Reply

