Happy new year!

Today I ventured into the local bike shop. I mainly wanted to try out Sidi shoes on sale, but as I was there I took advantage of the Shimano Ultegra Di2 demo. They had two bikes setup on trainers so I took the bigger one on a spin. To be honest I’m not impressed. While switching gears sure was precise I felt it was way slower than what I had expected. Especially the front derailleur seemed sluggish. To be honest this was a relief. I’ve been little worried that Sram Force groupset purchased for last season would now be all but obsolete. Also buying a new frame with no Di2 future proofing seemed risky before this little test. However now that I have seen the thing in action I’m much more confident in buying a new chinarello frame. Don’t get me wrong, I love to live on the leading edge, but I just don’t see the need for Di2 for now. I would reckon it will take at least 2-3 years before we are in state where there is demand fro electronic shifting outside competitive sports where every second counts.

PS. I hate to say it, but Cannondale Six is light. A real dream bike.

2 thoughts on “Happy new year!

  1. Another thing I forgot to mention is that while it is great that there is continuity I don’t understand why the up/down shifting controls resemble so much the ones on the mechanical shifters. I think there would be quite a bit of space for ingenuity and innovation in bike user interface design. I doubt just copying the existing usage model will provide the optimal solution. Shimano has really left the door open for Campagnolo, SRAM and others.

Leave a Reply

