So, How much does a Chinarello cost?

All in all I have spent well over 2k€ on the chinarello.  Here is a run-down on the costs for parts sourced directly from China.

  • frame (fm015-580) and fork (007) 293,372€
  • handlebar (HF-HB003) €43,50
  • seat post (HF-SP003) €27,52
  • stem (ST001) €16,66
  • tapered headset €10,86
  • extra derailleur hangers (x2)   €7,24
  • spacers €3,62
  • seat clamp €2,17
  • painting frame white €54,33
  • shipping to Finland €65,19
In addition there were EU duty tolls (can be upto 48% for chinese bike parts imports) and local taxes (23% VAT) I had to pay. I know for a fact that lot of people have been able to bargain a better price. I just wanted to make sure I’m first on the list and don’t get treated like a second rate customer. Not sure how well that worked expect that everything arrived in a month like promised.
3 thoughts on “So, How much does a Chinarello cost?

  1. Hi, I just found your blog. Thanks for conveying your experiences. I am considering a “Chinarello” for my next bike purchase, and your blog is quite helpful. It’s a shame that you have to pay so much in import taxes. Then again, I guess that is the cost of having great social services.

    Thanks again!

  2. Well, like you said I guess that’s the price to pay for the life you choose. However my understanding is that the 48% chinese bike part levy is rarely enforced if you just buy parts for a single bike. The interpretations depend a whole lot on the country though. In some EU countries authorities seem to be stricter in their practices than in others. Finland tends to be on the tougher side side which is quite annoying sometimes.

    Thank you for the kind words. Choosing a charbon bike may not be the cheapest alternative, but it surely forces you to learn a lot when you take the plunge. Sometimes the hunt is also better than the catch. Building up your bike from scratch is quite satisfying even if it can be quite nerve racking. In the end if you decide to go with a chinarello please post me a pic and share your story.

  3. Just as an update I made a calculation for the cost of my RT-90 and with the power meter it came up to 3600€. So it is real easy to spend a lot of money if you get all the bells and whistles, or should I say wheels and cranks.

Leave a Reply

