Installing the headset

I had some trouble installing the headset. With absolutely no previous experience installing integrated headsets the bearing on top of the crown race the stack height just seemed way too high even with everything installed correctly. Initially it was also bit difficult to get the lower bearing to fit the frame. After consulting the discussion forums at RoadBikeReview I was told that the headset model is fine and I was instructed to just do some more cleaning. Removing black resin residue dust with paint thinner did improve the situation and I think things look much better at the moment. At least there is no huge 3mm gap between the frame and the fork anymore.

3 thoughts on “Installing the headset

  1. HI
    I’m installing the headset on my Chinarello and I’m currently experiencing some difficulty. Did you have to use a headset press? The cup at the lower end of my head tube seems to sit quite loosely. Does this need to be pressed in as well??

    Many thanks
    Fraser

  2. Hi,
    I did not use a headset press and I haven’t heard anybody would have had the need to do so. I think cups tend to be a tad tight. In the end all I had to do was clear off some resin residue or lacquer with a paper towel and the bearing fit in nice and snug. I recall that there was little bit of force involved, but fingers was all I needed. Now if there is excessive play I would take the bike to a shop just to get a second opinion.

Leave a Reply

